Justice Thurgood Marshall 

Justice Thurgood  Marshall graduated first in his class from Howard University Law School in 1933.    In 1967, President Lyndon Johnson appointed him to the US Supreme Court.   he was the first african-american us supreme court justice.  He served as Justice until he retired in 1991. 

Justice Marshall helped the  NAACP with its fight for civil rights.  In 1936, working with the naacp, Justice marshall and charles houston won murray v. pearson, the first of the cases that were designed to undermine the legal basis of dejure racial segregation in the united states.
Justice Marshall was responsible for achieving twenty-nine Supreme Court victories, such as Brown v. Board of Education (1954), in which the Supreme Court ruled  that the doctrine of "Separate, but Equal" was inherently unequal and unconstitutional.